Four Takes in Oxford

The Pitfalls of Charity

I hate getting ripped off. I guess most people do. But no matter how vigilant you are it tends to happen occasionally. You can deny it but you know it’s true. If there’s any comfort to be had at such moments, it’s usually in the elegance of the scam (you mean he’s not really a Nigerian prince?!)gas can

While exploring New Orleans one afternoon, we drove through the Garden District – where all the richies live and subsequently where a lot of beautiful old houses are. We hadn’t yet visited the drive-thru daiquiri shack so my wits were about me. Pulling up at a small four-way stop sign, a nice looking SUV approached from the opposite direction, stalled, and coasted into the intersection. The driver popped out, cursing himself and the car, and started to push his vehicle out of the street. Being a generally kind-hearted soul, I leaned out the window and asked if he needed a hand. He did, so I left Gwen idling in Precision Auto, hopped out, and helped this stranger get his car to the curb.

Continue reading

Shout Out!

This one’s for Jonah and Martin, the most blog-worthy dudes in New Orleans.